The African Union (AU) is a continental union consisting of all 55 countries on the African continent, including the 6% of Egypt that is geographically in Asia. It was established on 26 May 2001 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, and launched on 9 July 2002 in South Africa, with the aim of replacing the Organisation of African Unity (OAU).

African Union
Type of acronyms: 
Category of acronyms: